Collections and Research

The Great Antonio souvenir, Montreal, QC, about 1985. Gidt of Mme Élise Gravel, M2017.37.2.417 © McCord Museum

The Great Antonio’s personal archives: A sizable acquisition!

Thanks to a generous donation from author and illustrator Élise Gravel, the McCord Museum’s collection was recently enriched by numerous textual and iconographic documents once belonging to Anton Barichievich, better known as the Great Antonio.

Born in Europe in 1925, this modern-day Samson came to Canada at the age of 20. Aware of his extraordinary powers, he entered various strongman exhibitions and was recognized by The Guinness Book of Records in 1952 for having pulled a 433-tonne train along 19.8 metres of track. In 1956, he dragged a Chevrolet attached to his hair and, in 1960, he pulled four buses full of passengers along Montreal’s St. Catherine Street. He hit his peak in the 1960s and 1970s, when he also worked as a professional wrestler. He travelled around the world, attracting crowds in Japan by fighting three, four or five men at a time.

Measuring 6’4″ (1.93 m) and weighing 495 pounds (225 kg), the Great Antonio wore size 28 shoes and was famous for his distinctive appearance: baggy clothes, shaggy beard and long unkempt hair. With his “gentle giant” persona, he appeared on various popular TV shows like The Tonight Show Starring Johnny Carson and in several films, notably the international hit Quest for Fire (1981), a France-Canada co-production directed by Jean-Jacques Annaud.

In the 1990s, the “strongest man in the world,” as he liked to call himself, gradually disappeared from the public eye. The Great Antonio lived in the borough of Rosemont and hung out in downtown metro stations where he sold signed photographs and photomontages of his past exploits for a few dollars. He died of a heart attack in 2003, at the age of 77. As he had no known family, the cost of his burial was covered by an anonymous donation to the Sun Youth Organization. The day of his funeral, some 3,000 people came to pay their respects.

From triumph to poverty, the Great Antonio enjoyed a life and career that captured the collective imagination. One of many Quebec strongmen in the tradition of Louis Cyr, he was exceptional for his strong personality and marginal status. The archives of this colourful figure chronicle his career and exploits. It contains correspondence, work contracts, business cards, and wrestling show programs and posters featuring the names of the wrestlers who shared the ring with him, from Pat O’Connor to Maurice “Mad Dog” Vachon, Buddy Rogers and Édouard Carpentier. Over 500 photographs and numerous informative press clippings also illustrate that the Great Antonio was a self-proclaimed public relations expert. For four decades, he leveraged his fame to enter the national and international jet set, rubbing shoulders with the biggest stars of the day like Maurice Richard, Michael Jackson, Clint Eastwood, Sophia Loren, Luciano Pavarotti, Liza Minnelli, Alain Delon, Jean-Paul Belmondo and Tom Jones.

  • <i>The Great Antonio</i>, about 1960. Gift of Mme Élise Gravel, M2017.37.2.222 © McCord Museum
  • <i>The Great Antonio</i>, about 1960. Gift of Mme Élise Gravel, M2017.37.2.221 © McCord Museum
  • <i>Antonio Barichievich</i>, about 1950. Gift of Mme Élise Gravel, M2017.37.2.220 © McCord Museum
  • <i>The Great Antonio and Nana Mouskouri</i>, Montreal, about 1985. Gift of Élise Gravel, M2017.37.2.220 © McCord Museum
  • <i>The Great Antonio and Muhammad Ali</i>, about 1980. Gift of Mme Élise Gravel, M2017.37.2.177 © McCord Museum

This new acquisition will enable the McCord Museum to preserve and celebrate the memory of this great Montreal legend. Soon, researchers from all disciplines will be able to consult the Great Antonio fonds through the Museum’s Archives and Documentation Centre.

Archives and documentation centre

Open to the public Tuesday to Thursday from 9:30 a.m. to noon, and from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m. (closed on legal holidays)

By appointment only:
514-861-6701 ext. 1249
reference@mccord-stewart.ca

Not to be missed!

SUPPORT YOUR MUSEUM

Make a donation now and contribute to the fundraising campaign.

Contribute

Collections et recherche

Souvenir du Grand Antonio, Montréal, QC, vers 1985. Don de Mme Élise Gravel, M2017.37.2.417 © Musée McCord

Les archives personnelles du Grand Antonio : une acquisition « de taille »!

Grâce au don généreux de l’auteure et illustratrice Élise Gravel, la collection du Musée McCord s’est récemment enrichie de nombreux documents textuels et iconographiques ayant appartenu à Anton Barichievich, mieux connu sous le nom du Grand Antonio.

Né en 1925 et d’origine européenne, ce Samson des temps modernes arrive au Canada à l’âge de 20 ans. Conscient de ses capacités peu communes, il prend part à différentes épreuves entre hommes forts et figure, dès 1952, dans Le livre Guinness des records pour avoir tiré sur une voie ferrée un train de 433 tonnes sur une distance de 19,8 m. En 1956, il traîne une voiture Chevrolet attachée à ses cheveux et en 1960, il performe en tirant quatre autobus remplis de passagers sur la rue Sainte-Catherine à Montréal. Il connaît la gloire dans les années 1960 et 1970, période durant laquelle il mène en parallèle une carrière de lutteur professionnel. Il voyage à travers le monde et particulièrement au Japon, où il attire les foules en se battant contre trois, quatre ou cinq hommes à la fois.

Mesurant 1,93 m, pesant 225 kg et chaussant des souliers de pointure 28, le Grand Antonio impressionne en outre par son apparence atypique : vêtements amples, barbe hirsute et cheveux longs négligés. Avec son allure de « gentil géant », il fait plusieurs apparitions dans différentes émissions populaires comme le Tonight Show de Johnny Carson et obtient quelques rôles au cinéma, notamment dans le succès international La guerre du feu (1981), un film franco-canadien réalisé par Jean-Jacques Annaud.

Dans les années 1990, « l’homme le plus fort du monde », comme il plaît encore à se proclamer, sombre peu à peu dans l’oubli. Le Grand Antonio fréquente le quartier Rosemont et les stations de métro du centre-ville où il vend pour quelques dollars des photographies autographiées et des photomontages de ses anciens exploits. Il décède d’un arrêt cardiaque en 2003, à l’âge de 77 ans. Comme on ne lui connaît aucune famille, c’est un don anonyme à l’organisme Jeunesse au Soleil qui permet de couvrir le coût de son enterrement. Le jour de ses funérailles, environ 3 000 personnes viennent lui rendre un dernier hommage.

Du triomphe à l’indigence, le Grand Antonio a connu un parcours qui frappe l’imaginaire collectif. S’ajoutant au cumul des nombreux hommes forts qu’a connus le Québec depuis l’époque de Louis Cyr, il se distingue néanmoins par sa forte personnalité et son caractère marginal. Les archives de ce personnage haut en couleur nous permettent de retracer sa carrière et ses exploits. On y trouve de la correspondance, des contrats d’embauche, des cartes professionnelles, ainsi que des programmes et des affiches de spectacles de lutte sur lesquels figurent les noms des différents lutteurs ayant partagé le ring avec lui, de Pat O’Connor à Maurice « Mad Dog » Vachon, en passant par Buddy Rogers et Édouard Carpentier. Plus de 500 photographies et de nombreuses coupures de presse, extrêmement riches en renseignements, montrent aussi que le Grand Antonio était « un expert » des relations publiques. Pendant quatre décennies, il a usé de sa notoriété et infiltré le jet-set national et international; on peut le voir en compagnie des plus grandes vedettes de l’heure, telles que Maurice Richard, Michael Jackson, Clint Eastwood, Sophia Loren, Luciano Pavarotti, Liza Minnelli, Alain Delon, Jean-Paul Belmondo et Tom Jones.

  • <i>Le Grand Antonio</i>, vers 1960. Don de Mme Élise Gravel, M2017.37.2.222 © Musée McCord
  • <i>Le Grand Antonio</i>, vers 1960. Don de Mme Élise Gravel, M2017.37.2.221 © Musée McCord
  • <i>Antonio Barichievich</i>, vers 1950. Don de Mme Élise Gravel, M2017.37.2.220 © Musée McCord
  • <i>Le Grand Antonio et Nana Mouskouri</i>, Montréal, vers 1985. Don de Mme Élise Gravel, M2017.37.2.220 © Musée McCord
  • <i>Le Grand Antonio et Muhammad Ali</i>, vers 1980. Don de Mme Élise Gravel, M2017.37.2.177 © Musée McCord
  • <i>Le Grand Antonio</i>, 2000. Don de Mme Élise Gravel, M2017.37.2.121 © Musée McCord

Par le biais de cette nouvelle acquisition, le Musée McCord veille à préserver et à célébrer la mémoire de cette grande légende montréalaise. Le fonds d’archives du Grand Antonio sera prochainement mis à la disposition des chercheurs de tous les horizons par l’entremise de notre Centre d’archives et de documentation.

Centre d'archives et de documentation

Ouvert au public du mardi au jeudi, de 9 h 30 à 12 h et de 13 h  à 17 h (fermé les congés fériés).

Sur rendez-vous uniquement:
514 861-6701 poste 1249

reference.mccord@mccord-stewart.ca

À ne pas manquer

SOUTENEZ VOTRE MUSÉE

Faites un don maintenant afin de contribuer à la campagne de financement.

Contribuez