Education

Educational vision

The McCord Museum is a museum for all Montrealers, a social history museum that celebrates life in Montreal past and present: its history, its people, its communities.

Montreal is proud of its reputation as a welcoming, inclusive city open to the world. A cultural institution with strong ties to its community, the McCord Museum has a responsibility to promote and develop this openness. We consider this to be an essential element to building a forward-looking metropolis.

Inspired by this vision, we strive to create greater openness among our visitors. We hope that they flourish as individuals in both the richness and complexity of urban life in the 21st century.

A participatory museum

Today, our Museum stands as a participatory and community-oriented institution. As such, dialogue and social interaction are central to our activities and visits.

Through discussion, our visitors gain a better understanding of the objects and themes on display by viewing them from multiple perspectives. The Museum’s facilitators enrich this experience by promoting reflection and discovery. In turn, they foster greater openness among our visitors.

 

We use objects, stories and the sharing of experiences to help Montrealers from all origins better understand their city and the world around them.

STORYTELLING

Humans have long used storytelling to chronicle their lives, build an identity and share knowledge. In our STORYTELLING activities, narrative modes are emphasized.

Through legends, poems, plays, comic strips and more, our visitors get swept up in the stories associated with the Museum’s objects. For example, they might find themselves plunged into an Aboriginal legend recounting a fight for survival in the forest by two abandoned women. Or, they may be introduced to artefacts from Montreal’s industrial age via excerpts from works by local authors.

Touched by these stories, our visitors explore the objects on display from a fresh perspective. Then, by creating new stories, they embark on a journey towards greater self-awareness and openness to others.

EXPLORING

Our EXPLORING activities invite visitors to take the time to carefully observe the world around them. Whether examining the city, neighbourhood, street or Museum, visitors draw on all of their senses to gain an in-depth awareness of their urban and cultural surroundings.

During their visit, they explore a range of ways to see and experience the world by viewing it through the eyes of another. For example, while strolling down a street, an urban planner observes pedestrian and cyclist traffic. A botanist’s eyes are drawn to invasive plants. A child is taken by the toys in a window display, and an architect admires the style of the surrounding buildings.

These varying points of view heighten visitors’ observation skills and impact their connection to the rest of the world.

REINVENTING

Our REINVENTING activities call on our visitors’ ability to solve problems and imagine creative solutions by modifying the layout of a space, improving the function of an object, or finding new ways of doing things or thinking. For example, they may reflect on how to reshape the Hôtel-Dieu site, contemplate improvements to living conditions for nursing home residents, or adapt an everyday object such as a teapot so it can be used by a person with a disability.

Our approach encourages creativity and collaboration. By joining in these activities, our visitors learn they can take action in order to make the world a better place.

Five main themes

Our education program has been built around five main themes that reflect life in the city. It takes as a point of departure today’s urban realities. It then draws on the past and on places near and far to generate a more comprehensive understanding, which it fuels with multiple points of view. Our program focuses on Montreal, its residents and their stories.

The five main themes at the core of our educational offer are:

Living in the City As the city expands, it becomes an increasingly inspiring place to live. Urban planning, citizen engagement and mobility management are all issues vital to urban populations whose numbers are growing around the world.
Growing and Aging

 

The human experience revolves around the inevitable stages of life: birth, growth, aging and death. Because our contribution to community life varies with each of these stages, the establishment of an intergenerational dialogue is needed. This grants everyone the chance to give the best of themselves.
Changing the World Humans have always sought to control their environment through the creation of machines, devices, objects and new ways of doing things. These innovations enrich our day-to-day lives and change how we interact with the world.
Exile and Belonging Uprooted by war, natural disaster or poverty, migrants leave in search of a better future. Their departure means abandoning a familiar place, but it also leads to a new sense of belonging in a land that welcomes them.
Openness to Others Within the vibrancy of large cities, cultures meet and merge. Ways of living, thinking and doing things are made richer through our contacts with others. Out of this diversity, a curiosity emerges that spurs renewed dialogue.

Éducation

Vision éducative

Le Musée McCord est le musée de tous les Montréalais, un musée d’histoire sociale qui célèbre la vie à Montréal, d’hier et d’aujourd’hui : son histoire, sa vision, ses gens, ses citoyens, ses communautés.

Montréal est reconnue comme une ville ouverte, accueillante et inclusive. En tant qu’institution culturelle ancrée dans sa communauté, nous soutenons qu’il est de notre responsabilité de promouvoir et de cultiver cette ouverture, essentielle à l’édification d’une grande métropole tournée vers l’avenir.

Fort de cette vision, nous souhaitons créer chez nos visiteurs une plus grande ouverture, qui leur permettra de vivre pleinement, en tant que personne et citoyen, dans la richesse et la complexité de la vie urbaine du 21e siècle.

Un musée participatif

Notre musée se positionne aujourd’hui comme un musée participatif et citoyen. En ce sens, nous accordons une place centrale au dialogue et aux interactions sociales dans nos activités et dans nos visites.

Au fil des échanges, nos visiteurs construisent ensemble une compréhension plus riche des objets et des thèmes exposés en les abordant sous des angles variés. Les médiateurs du Musée enrichissent l’expérience en provoquant des questionnements et des découvertes, sources d’une plus grande ouverture chez nos visiteurs.

Nous utilisons des objets, des histoires et le partage d’expériences pour amener les Montréalais de toutes origines à mieux comprendre leur ville et le monde qui les entoure.

Approche RACONTEZ

Depuis toujours, l’humain utilise les histoires pour se raconter, pour se construire et pour transmettre des savoirs. Dans les activités de type RACONTEZ, les modes narratifs sont à l’honneur.

Que ce soit par l’intermédiaire d’un conte, d’un poème, d’une œuvre théâtrale ou d’une bande dessinée, nos visiteurs se laissent charmer par les récits associés aux objets du musée. Par exemple, durant leur visite, ils plongent dans l’univers d’une légende autochtone racontant le combat de deux femmes abandonnées apprenant à survivre en forêt ou ils découvrent des objets du Montréal industriel à travers la lecture d’extraits d’œuvres littéraires d’auteurs d’ici.

Imprégnés des émotions suscitées par les récits, nos visiteurs explorent les objets exposés avec un regard différent. En créant eux-mêmes de nouveaux récits, ils s’engagent dans une démarche vers la connaissance de soi et l’ouverture à l’autre.

Approche EXPLOREZ

Les activités de type EXPLOREZ invitent nos visiteurs à prendre le temps d’observer attentivement le monde qui les entoure. Que ce soit pour s’intéresser à la ville, au quartier, à la rue ou au musée, les sens des visiteurs sont sollicités pour susciter une conscience profonde de leur environnement urbain ou culturel.

Ils explorent diverses manières de voir et de ressentir le monde en empruntant, le temps d’une visite, le regard d’un autre. Par exemple, se promenant dans une rue, un urbaniste observe la circulation des piétons et des cyclistes, un botaniste remarque les espèces végétales envahissantes, l’enfant se passionne pour la boutique de jouets, l’architecte pour le style des bâtiments.

Ces changements de points de vue stimulent la capacité d’observation profonde des visiteurs et transforment leur rapport au monde.

Approche RÉINVENTEZ

Sollicitant leur capacité à résoudre des problèmes et à imaginer des solutions créatives, les activités de type RÉINVENTEZ mettent nos visiteurs au défi de repenser l’organisation d’un lieu, d’améliorer la fonction d’un objet, d’inventer de nouvelles manières de faire ou de penser. Par exemple, ils réfléchissent au réaménagement du site de l’Hôtel-Dieu, tentent d’améliorer les conditions de vie des résidents d’un centre d’hébergement et de soins de longue durée ou modifient un objet usuel comme une théière pour que celle-ci puisse être utilisée par une personne en situation de handicap.

La démarche proposée sollicite la créativité et la collaboration. Par leur participation à ces activités, nos visiteurs réalisent qu’ils ont le pouvoir d’agir sur le monde pour le rendre meilleur.

Cinq grands thèmes

Notre offre éducative s’articule autour de cinq grands thèmes liés à la vie urbaine. Elle prend comme point de départ les réalités urbaines du temps présent et puise dans le passé ou l’ailleurs pour générer des compréhensions plus riches, nourries de multiples points de vue. Elle se centre sur Montréal, ses citoyens et leurs histoires.

Constituant le cœur de notre offre éducative, ces cinq grands thèmes sont :

Vivre en ville La ville s’agrandit et devient un lieu de vie inspirant. L’aménagement de l’espace urbain, l’engagement citoyen, la gestion de la mobilité sont des questions dont l’importance s’affirme avec les populations urbaines qui ne cessent de croître partout dans le monde.
Grandir et vieillir

 

L’expérience humaine se construit selon les étapes incontournables du cycle de la vie : « naître, grandir, vieillir et mourir ». La contribution à la vie collective étant de nature différente à chacun de ces stades, l’établissement d’un dialogue intergénérationnel est nécessaire pour que chacun puisse contribuer au meilleur de son potentiel.
Transformer le monde De tout temps, l’être humain a souhaité contrôler son environnement en créant des machines, des appareils, des objets, de nouvelles manières de faire. Ces inventions enrichissent nos vies quotidiennes et transforment notre rapport au monde.
S’exiler et appartenir Bousculées par la guerre, les événements climatiques ou la pauvreté, les migrants se déplacent à la recherche d’un avenir meilleur. L’exil, c’est l’abandon d’un lieu connu. C’est aussi l’expérience de s’approprier un nouveau milieu de vie et d’affirmer son appartenance à une terre d’accueil.
S’ouvrir à l’autre Dans l’effervescence des grands centres urbains, les cultures se rencontrent et se métissent. Les manières de vivre, d’être ou de faire s’enrichissent au contact de l’autre. De cette diversité émergent des curiosités qui sont la source d’un dialogue renouvelé.